• +6344 456 0688
  • CLSU, Science City of Muñoz, Nueva Ecija

Founded in 2019, the College of Science, the other half of the former College of Arts and Sciences (CAS), made it into its way from the deep roots of the University and underwent growth process to assume its current form.

The College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) was created by virtue of Section 7 of Republic Act No. 4067 entitled “An Act Converting the Central Luzon Agricultural College (CLAC) into Central Luzon State University (CLSU)”, signed by the Pres. Diosdado Macapagal on June 18, 1964.  This provision empowered the Board of Regents to approve the establishment of, among others, the College of Arts and Sciences. At the time of its founding, the college consisted of  four departments:  Behavioral Sciences, Biological Sciences, Humanities and Languages, and Physical Sciences.

The College started offering the BS Biology in 1981 and the BS Chemistry program in 1982. The College produced its first batch of graduates in Biology and Chemistry in 1984 and 1986, respectively.

Improvements introduced a whole new revamped era for the College’s instructional program prowess by subsequently offering AB Social Sciences in 1993, AB Development Communication in 1999, BS Statistics in 2000,  BA Psychology in 2004, BS Mathematics in 2010, BS Environmental Science in 2012 and BA Filipino in 2018. So, by 2018, the College was a much larger college than it had been at its inception, boasting 10 departments with 11 program offerings.

At that time, the administration deemed it necessary to create an additional college relative to the College of Arts and Sciences’ size, number of program offerings, personnel and student population. The overall goal of the reorganization of the College is to allow for a more organizational focus in its efforts on vital programs based on their field of specialization and enhance effectiveness and efficiency of the organization.

Thus, the proposal for the splitting of the College of Arts and Sciences into College of Science and College of Arts and Sciences was approved by the Board of Regents at its 217th regular meeting on  8th  March 2019 held in Quezon City through Resolution No. 5 Series of 2019.

Currently, the new college houses five departments, namely: Department of Biological Sciences, Department of Chemistry, Department of Environmental Sciences, Department of Mathematics and Physics, and Department of Statistics.

The last Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences was Dr. Evaristo A. Abella. He was also designated as the first Dean of the College of Science. The last department chairs before the splitting and the first department chairs in the College of Science were Dr. Angeles M. De Leon of the Department of Biological Sciences, Dr. Joel P. Salazar of the Department of Chemistry, Dr. Sharon E. Lazaro of the Department of Environmental Science, Dr. Eduard P. Taganap of the Department of Mathematics and Physics, and Mr. John Closter F. Olivo of the Department of Statistics.

Moreover, with the implementation of the approved revised University Code, the College shall also serve as an umbrella organization integrating center, institute and facilities of excellence. The Center for Tropical Mushroom and Research Development (CTMRD), the Institute for Climate Change and Environmental Management (ICCEM), the CLSU Nanotechnology R & D Facility and the Supercomputing Facility all became part of the College.

It is undeniable that the College of Science will not be brought to fruition without its rich track record. Tracing back to the days of creating the RA 4067, proposal to split the College of Arts and Sciences into College of Arts and Social Sciences and College of Science, the approval of the said proposal, and of course, the very people that are behind all of these milestones, the College of Science will always be the future of scientific education and success through Central Luzon State University.